Thursday, May 27, 2010

Shameless self-promotion

The folks over at the 3 Quarks Daily blog have opened nominations for their second annual prize in science for the best blog writing.   I've self-nominated one of my better-reviewed posts, but if you'd like to nominate any other posts of mine (or from any other science blogger), please go to their announcement of the contest and post the permalink  in the comments section. In particular, make sure the post was written on or after May 24, 2009, and make all nominations before May 31.

Here are the contest details, copied word-for-word from the contest site.  Again, post any nominations on their announcement page, not here!  Thanks in advance!

The winners of the science prize will be announced on June 21, 2010. Here's the schedule:
May 24, 2010:
  • The nominations are opened. Please nominate your favorite science blog entry by placing the URL for the blog post (the permalink) in the comments section of this post. You may also add a brief comment describing the entry and saying why you think it should win.
  • Blog posts longer than 4,000 words are not eligible.
  • Each person can only nominate one blog post.
  • Entries must be in English.
  • The editors of 3QD reserve the right to reject entries that we feel are not appropriate.
  • The blog entry may not be more than a year old. In other words, it must have been written after May 23, 2009.
  • You may also nominate your own entry from your own or a group blog (and we encourage you to).
  • Guest columnists at 3 Quarks Daily are also eligible to be nominated, and may also nominate themselves if they wish.
  • Nominations are limited to the first 200 entries.
  • Prize money must be claimed within a month of the announcement of winners.
  • You may also comment here on our prizes themselves, of course!
May 31, 2010
  • The nominating process will end at 11:59 PM (NYC time) of this date.
  • The public voting will be opened immediately afterwards.
June 7, 2010
  • Public voting ends at 11:59 PM (NYC time).
June 21, 2010
  • The winners are announced.

No comments:

Post a Comment